Established in 1995 as an intergovernmental initiative between the founding Members to enhance free movement of persons, the border-free Schengen Area guarantees free movement of EU citizens in the EU territory as well as other non-EU citizens who are legally authorized to stay in this area either for short or long period. This enables authorized people (EU and non-EU citizens) to cross the internal border without being subject to border controls.

There are 26 Member States in the Schengen area. The area encompasses 22 EU States, 4 non-EU states and 3 European micro-states.

Schengen Countries List

22 EU Member States:

4 non-EU Member States:

3 Micro-States de facto part of Schengen Area:

Schengen Zone Joining Countries

4 countries that will be part of the Schengen Area:

Planning to travel to this country soon? Skip the inconveniences with ETIAS application. 

Let us provide the ETIAS visa assistance you need.

Contact Us