Skip to content
The Trakai Island Castle in Lithuania | ETIAS Countries

Country Overview

Lithuania is a country member of the European Union, located in the far northeast of Europe, within the Schengen Zone. Together with Estonia and Latvia, Lithuania comprises the Baltic States. The territory of Lithuania is bordered by two Member States – Latvia and Poland – and two non-Schengen countries, Belarus and Kaliningrad (Russia).

Once a part of the USSR, Lithuania was the first ex-Soviet country to disassociate from the Soviet Union, gaining its independence in 1991. Since then, the economy of Lithuania has strengthened with great speed, marked by significant growth of the GDP.

One of the most important activities in Lithuania is the extraction of amber, a fossil resin used in jewellery making.

After their independence, Lithuania and the other Baltic States tried to reduce economic and political ties with Russia. Hence, they never joined the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) – an economic bloc formed by former Soviet Union republics. Instead, Lithuania and its Baltic neighbours joined the European Union (EU) and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), and finally, the Schengen Area.

Travel in Lithuania

The tourism industry in Lithuania has been strengthening since the country became an EU member and signed the Schengen Agreement. Because much of Lithuanian territory is covered by forests, a large part of travellers tends to search for eco-tourism alternatives.

One of Lithuania’s highlight which attracts visitors from all corners of the globe is the Aukštaitija National Park, famous for its lakes and ancient forests. Vilnius, the capital of Lithuania, also charms foreigners with its rich architecture of Renaissance and Baroque movements.


The Baltic States (Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia) are a part of both the EU and the Schengen Area, which means all EU passport holders are free to enter Lithuanian territory without going through border checks. Likewise, Lithuanian nationals can travel through Europe visa-free. Non-EU citizens who are exempt from a Schengen visa (like Canadians) can visit Lithuania for up to 90 days in every 180-day period. However, as of 2021, such travellers will have to bear a valid ETIAS.

About Lithuania

Capital: Vilnius

Area: 65,200 KM2

Population: 2,944,459

Timezone: UTC/GMT +2 hour

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Calling Code: +370


  • Lithuanian 82%
  • Russian 8%
  • Polish 5.6%
  • Other 0.9%
  • Unspecified 3.5%

ETIAS in Lithuania

In 2004, a large movement by many East European nations – including Lithuania, Hungary, and the Czech Republic, among others – brought new members to the European Union. Following its admission into the EU, Lithuania and the other Baltic States (Estonia and Latvia) joined the Schengen Area in 2007.

This new phase in Lithuanian politics improved the country’s economy greatly, as well as created a series of opportunities for its citizens. The government of Lithuania has thus been actively engaged in all matters related to EU and Schengen policy-making.


When the immigration crisis hit Europe in 2015, Lithuania was one of the first countries to support the creation of a new migratory system to better manage the Schengen borders. Hence, Lithuanian Minister Žilinskas backed up the European Commission’s suggestion to introduce the ETIAS, aiming to enhance security across the Schengen Territory.


The European Parliament predicts that the ETIAS will start in 2021 and although the new immigration system will be a big change, it will not affect travel regulations for EU nationals. As a part of its approach, the ETIAS is directed at non-EU passport holders who up until 2021 don’t need a visa to visit the Schengen Zone.

By implementing a pre-travel electronic authorization, the ETIAS system will gather information from travellers and identify potential threats before they land in Europe.
With this dynamic immigration procedure, the EU will give Lithuanian authorities more control over who is arriving and departing from the Schengen Territory.

Canada and Lithuania

Lithuania and Canada celebrated 25 years of diplomatic relations in 2016. The relationship between Canada and the Baltic States has always been positive since Canada never recognized the annexation of Lithuania, Estonia, or Latvia to the USSR. Moreover, when Lithuania restored its independence in 1991, Canada was one of the first nations to recognize it as an independent country.

As part of the United Nations, the NATO, and the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), Canada and Lithuania collaborate in various international matters. Both countries have similar views on issues related to human rights and social inclusion which makes them work together in global actions around such matters.

Another factor that fortifies bilateral relations between both nations is the large community of Lithuanians who reside in Canada. Because of such close ties, Canada and Lithuania have signed a Youth Mobility Agreement, which has allowed for many Lithuanian and Canadian citizens between 18 and 35 years old to enrol in short-term work experiences in the other country.

Since 2016, Lithuanian nationals have been subject to an eTA when travelling to Canada with touristic or business purposes for no longer than 90 days. As of 2021, Lithuania and all other Schengen Member States will introduce a similar program for Canadians, called ETIAS.

The ETIAS will be an online authorization aimed at citizens from more than 50 countries which enjoy a Schengen visa-waiver agreement, including Canadians. Once Canadian travellers have filled out the online form and paid the processing fee, the ETIAS system will verify if he/she presents a threat to the security of the Schengen community. If granted an ETIAS, Canadian visitors will be able to travel to Lithuania for up to 3 months in every period of 6 months, before the end of the 5-year ETIAS validity.

List of Canadian diplomatic offices in Lithuania

The Embassy of Canada in Vilnius, Lithuania

Address: Business Centre 2000, Jogailos St. 4, 7th Floor, Vilnius 01116, Lithuania
Phone: +370-5249-0950
Fax: +370-5249-7865

List of Lithuanian diplomatic offices in Canada

The Embassy of Lithuania in Ottawa, Canada

Address: 150 Metcalfe Street, Suite 1600, Ottawa, Ontario, K2P 1P1, Canada
Phone: +1 613 567 54 58
Fax: +1 613 567 53 15

Consulate of Lithuania in Toronto, Canada

Address: 1573 Bloor St. W. Toronto, ON, M6P 1A6
Phone: +1 416-998-2711

Consulate of Lithuania in Vancouver, Canada

Address: 1088 Salsbury Drive Vancouver, B.C., V5L 4A7
Phone: +1 (604) 999 1904

Consulate of Lithuania in Quebec, Canada

Address: 835, rue Brault Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC J3B 2G6
Phone: +1 450 347 0583
Fax: +1 450 347 1800

Consulate of Lithuania in Quebec, Canada

Address: 923-13 Avenue SW, Calgary, AB T2R 0L3
Phone: +1 403 245 8669

Who we are

We provide updated information about the introduction and enforcing of ETIAS, with the latest announcements and news reports available.